May
10
Fri
Members night 2024-05/10 @ Eagle Bluff parking
May 10 @ 9:15 pm – May 11 @ 4:00 am

Member’s night Observing of the young Moon – 7.4 days after New Moon, planets bright stars, double stars, and more.

Reload this page before you leave for the event. Event can be cancelled in case of cloudy weather or another reason.

Moon on Friday May 10 evening


Credit: NASA Scientific Visualization Studio

Resources: In the Sky May/2024, Phases of the Moon 2024, Planets rise and set 05/10, Sun and Moon 05/10, Sun today, Holidays 2024
Moon Features You Can See From Earth,
Messier list, Caldwell list, Double stars list, Carbon stars list

2024 Public Sky Observing Plan
Month Day DoW Location Sunset Start End ☽ age Planets Title
Jan 19 Fri Oxbow Park 17:03 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 8.0 Rob Reid Presentation
Feb 16 Fri Oxbow Park 17:41 6:30 PM 8:00 PM 6.5 Luka Bajzer Presentation
Mar 15 Fri Oxbow Park 19:19 8:30 PM 10:00 PM 4.9 Josef Presentation
Apr 11 Thu Red Wing 19:52 8:45 PM 10:15 PM 2.4 Presentation and observing
Apr 12 Fri Oxbow Park 19:53 8:30 PM 10:00 PM 3.3 Presentation and observing
May 10 Fri Eagle Bluff 20:31 9:15 PM 4:00 AM 7.4 @Members night
May 17 Fri Watson 20:33 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 8.4 5/18 Astronomy Day
Jun 01 Sat Root River Park 20:48 9:30 PM 11:30 PM 24.3
Jun 07 Fri Eagle Bluff 20:51 9:45 PM 4:00 AM 0.4 @Members night
Jun 14 Fri Watson 20:56 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 7.8
Jun 29 Sat Root River Park 20:58 9:00 PM 12:00 AM 21.9
Jul 06 Sat Frontenac 20:56 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 0.7 Presentation and observing
Jul 12 Fri Watson 20:53 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 5.4
Jul 27 Sat Root River Park 20:40 9:30 PM 11:30 PM 20.6
Aug 09 Fri Watson 20:23 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 3.8
Aug 10 Sat Forestville 20:22 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 4.7 State wide star party
Aug 24 Sat Root River Park 20:00 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 19.2
Aug 31 Sat Frontenac 19:48 7:45 PM 10:45 PM 26.4 Presentation and observing
Sep 04 Wed Elgin 19:39 8:30 PM 10:30 PM 1.3 Presentation and observing
Sep 05 Thu Dodge Center PL 19:38 8:30 PM 11:30 PM 2.3 Presentation and observing
Sep 06 Fri Eagle Bluff 19:37 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 3.2 !StarBQ
Sep 07 Sat Eagle Bluff 19:35 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 4.1 !StarBQ
Sep 21 Sat Root River Park 19:09 8:15 PM 10:15 PM 17.7
Oct 11 Fri Watson 18:33 7:15 PM 9:15 PM 8.3 10/12 Astronomy Day
Oct 26 Sat Root River Park 18:08 7:00 PM 9:00 PM 23.4
Nov 08 Fri Oxbow Park 16:51 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 6.9 ?? Presentation
Dec 06 Fri Oxbow Park 16:32 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 4.4 ?? Presentation
event April 12 previous next May 17

☿ – Mercury, ♀ – Venus, ♂ – Mars, ♃ – Jupiter, ♄ – Saturn, ⛢ – Uranus, ♆ – Neptune

Color code
Oxbow Park Root River Park Soccer Fields Out of Rochester Moon visible

Facebook page

Jun
7
Fri
Members night 2024-06/07 @ Eagle Bluff parking
Jun 7 @ 9:45 pm – Jun 8 @ 4:00 am

Member’s Observing of the young Moon – 0.4 days after New Moon, planets bright stars, double stars, and more.

Reload this page before you leave for the event. Event can be cancelled in case of cloudy weather or another reason.

Moon on Friday June 7 evening


Credit: NASA Scientific Visualization Studio

Resources: In the Sky June/2024, Phases of the Moon 2024, Planets rise and set 06/07, Sun and Moon 06/07, Sun today, Holidays 2024
Moon Features You Can See From Earth,
Messier list, Caldwell list, Double stars list, Carbon stars list

2024 Public Sky Observing Plan
Month Day DoW Location Sunset Start End ☽ age Planets Title
Jan 19 Fri Oxbow Park 17:03 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 8.0 Rob Reid Presentation
Feb 16 Fri Oxbow Park 17:41 6:30 PM 8:00 PM 6.5 Luka Bajzer Presentation
Mar 15 Fri Oxbow Park 19:19 8:30 PM 10:00 PM 4.9 Josef Presentation
Apr 11 Thu Red Wing 19:52 8:45 PM 10:15 PM 2.4 Presentation and observing
Apr 12 Fri Oxbow Park 19:53 8:30 PM 10:00 PM 3.3 Presentation and observing
May 10 Fri Eagle Bluff 20:31 9:15 PM 4:00 AM 7.4 @Members night
May 17 Fri Watson 20:33 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 8.4 5/18 Astronomy Day
Jun 01 Sat Root River Park 20:48 9:30 PM 11:30 PM 24.3
Jun 07 Fri Eagle Bluff 20:51 9:45 PM 4:00 AM 0.4 @Members night
Jun 14 Fri Watson 20:56 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 7.8
Jun 29 Sat Root River Park 20:58 9:00 PM 12:00 AM 21.9
Jul 06 Sat Frontenac 20:56 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 0.7 Presentation and observing
Jul 12 Fri Watson 20:53 9:45 PM 11:45 PM 5.4
Jul 27 Sat Root River Park 20:40 9:30 PM 11:30 PM 20.6
Aug 09 Fri Watson 20:23 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 3.8
Aug 10 Sat Forestville 20:22 9:15 PM 11:15 PM 4.7 State wide star party
Aug 24 Sat Root River Park 20:00 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 19.2
Aug 31 Sat Frontenac 19:48 7:45 PM 10:45 PM 26.4 Presentation and observing
Sep 04 Wed Elgin 19:39 8:30 PM 10:30 PM 1.3 Presentation and observing
Sep 05 Thu Dodge Center PL 19:38 8:30 PM 11:30 PM 2.3 Presentation and observing
Sep 06 Fri Eagle Bluff 19:37 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 3.2 !StarBQ
Sep 07 Sat Eagle Bluff 19:35 8:45 PM 10:45 PM 4.1 !StarBQ
Sep 21 Sat Root River Park 19:09 8:15 PM 10:15 PM 17.7
Oct 11 Fri Watson 18:33 7:15 PM 9:15 PM 8.3 10/12 Astronomy Day
Oct 26 Sat Root River Park 18:08 7:00 PM 9:00 PM 23.4
Nov 08 Fri Oxbow Park 16:51 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 6.9 ?? Presentation
Dec 06 Fri Oxbow Park 16:32 6:00 PM 7:30 PM 4.4 ?? Presentation
event June 01 previous next June 14

☿ – Mercury, ♀ – Venus, ♂ – Mars, ♃ – Jupiter, ♄ – Saturn, ⛢ – Uranus, ♆ – Neptune

Color code
Oxbow Park Root River Park Soccer Fields Out of Rochester Moon visible

Facebook page

Sep
6
Fri
Member’s nights: Star-BQ 2024 @ Eagle Bluff parking
Sep 6 – Sep 7 all-day

Star-BQ 2024

Location Eagle Bluff parking  is just preliminary

Star-BQ 2023 was scratched.